White Birch Resort Reviews

  •  

    This was our second stay at this lovely house, and, again, we greatly enjoyed it. The owners, Sandy and Monte, are excellent to work with, including confirmation of reservations, making arrangements for our arrival and timely refund of the damage deposit. We will definitely be repeat customers. Best, Gerry O. January 2017 - Email

    We had a lovely time and you have a lovely resort.  We just loved our cabin #8.  Thank you.  Angie Hooper & Family August 2017 - In Person

    This was our second visit and we had another wonderful time.  So much fun!  Can't wait to come back again next summer.  Thank you so much!  Judd and Charlene Freeman & Family August 2017 - In Person

    This was our third visit and we had another wonderful time.  Thank so much for everything!  Lee and Ann Sandstrom August 2017 - In Person

    We thank you very much!  We really enjoyed our time!  Mike Squillace & Family August 2017 - In Person

    We had a wonderful time!  There was so much to do we ran out of time.  The bear visit was great!  B. Schaf-Klein Family August 2017 - In Person

    We had a Blast!  Thank you for a wonderful stay! A. Tharaldson August 2017 - In Person 

    Your facilities are wonderful!  Thank you for such a wonderful stay!  Jon Padden Family July 2017 - In Person

    Thank You for sharing your home #5!  Beautiful!  Had a GREAT TIME!  C. Gibson July 2017 - Note

    Thank you for such a wonderful stay!  K. Welbaum Family July 2017 - In Person 

    We loved our trip last summer!  This cabin#4 is beautiful! Kim Rickert - Facebook 5 star

    This place is awesome!  We had a mini stay last year with my father in law, who is no longer with us.  Great memories and the people at White Birch were so accommodating.  Miranda Wagner Henneman - Facebook 5 star

    My family spent a weekend at White Birch Resort to celebrate the holidays.  I'm so glad we did.  We had a blast and made some great memories!  Erinn Pervis - Facebook 5 star

    Had a great time last winter!  May have to come back to try some ice fishing!  Shelby Rae - Facebook 5 star

    We stayed here 2 summers ago for our family reunion and everyone had a wonderful time at the resort!  The large cabin was perfect for my extended family to be all together and the amenities were perfect!  We would love to come back again in 2018!! Kristin Berling - Facebook 5 star

    We have stayed at your resort twice so far and each stay has created so many great memories.  I think we are do for another family reunion!  Laura Fehr - Facbook 5 star

    Our family love to vacation at White Birch and we love being near family in MN!  Thank you White Birch for all the special family memories you have helped us to create in the past!  We look forward to making more in the future!  Sharon Johnson - Facebook 5 star

    Absolutely stunning!  Everyone will enjoy!  Gorgeous place to stay with your beautiful family and friends!  Much worth it as well.  Nancy Cervantes - Facebook 5 star

    We give you a 6 Star!  We love this place so much we hate to give our secret away!  We will be back!  Jennifer Anderson Family - June 2017 In Person

    We had a wonderful stay!  Everyone enjoyed the trip to see the bears!  J. Martin Family July 2017 In Person

    My extended family has stayed here twice and it is fantastic!  Hopefully we'll be able to make a return trip in the near future!  Josh Junker June 2017 - Facebook 5 star 

    We have stayed at these cabins multiple times.  Very large cabins and smaller ones.  Last visited August 2016.  Both experiences were wonderful!  The owners of this property are very accommodating and do an excellent job at taking care of the people staying in the cabins.  Their boys are very helpful as well!  They even delivered a high chair on a golf cart so I didn't have to carry it all the way to the cabin.  There is so much to do for all ages.  From an amazing playground spot by the water, to canoes, to paddle boats and bonbon boats.  Also have a nice pool and water fountain.  The cabins are all unique with special details in each.  Her decorating style is warm and welcoming!  They have a shop that sells packaged food items and souveniers such as shirts.  We can't wait to go again!!!  Dena Lipp June 2017 - Facebook 5 Star

    Brilliant!  Wonderfully clean and accommodating.  Beautiful decor and enough space for everyone to feel comfortable with a bathroom on each floor and comfortable furniture. The home theater and free popcorn, candy and pop was an added plus in home#5!  Sarah Gravalin Warrington December 2014 - Facebook 5 star

    Cabin was great.  Fishing was very good.  Hope to return again soon.  Ray Schulte June 2015 - Facebook - 4 star

    Stayed here last Labor Day weekend.  It was amazing!  Wonderful location, tons of activities that are included and what a gorgeous cabin it was to stay in.  This will be our go to when our friends are in for another weekend reunion/getaway.  Crystal Graening Facebook 5 star

    I have stayed here and it was so much fun!  The house was so beautiful and very nice!  I also enjoyed swimming with my family with the water trampoline and launcher!  Grace Einrem - Summer 2017 Facebook 5 star

    Heard nothing but good things about White Birch Resort!  Kati Wolf - Facebook 5 star

    Loved going there during the winter, now want to try summer!  Kelsey Carol Hanson - Facebook 5 star

    Stayed here 2 years ago and it was amazing.  Can't wait to come back!  Jenny Duros - Facebook 5 star

    We've been back muptiple times, such a  fun family vacation!  Would love to go back!  Rebekah Kuiken - Facebook 5 star

    I have stayed here a few times - wonderful place for family's!!  Bri Simmons - Facebook 5 star

    Love staying at White Birch Resort!  Morgan Rothfork - Facebook 5 star

    Truly beautiful...would love to stay again.  Carol B. Brooks - Facebook 5 star

    The best, been there can't wait to go again.  Candace Van Marel - Facebook 5 star

    Great place for a family vacation.  Been there a couple times with 15+ people and the facility works great.  Todd Feltes - Facebook 5 star

    We really loved it!  It was an enjoyable mix of antique and new all in one. It was so well stocked - popcorn and everything from strainer, baking dishes to ice cream scoop were readily available.  It was so spacious and beautifully decorated.  We looked at what the cabins use to look like before you rebuilt and WOW you have done a lot!  I think I could quit my day job and hang out for the summer.  The kids are wanting to make it a yearly tradition.  I've already asked a biking friend and his family to come next time and we will go biking on all the biking trails in Bemidji.  Yes, I will definitely recommend this place to anyone. I have already done that. See you next summer.  Todd M. – 7A - Email

    I travel around the state for work and have stayed in a vast variety of hotels and vacation rentals. So I have become a little picky about where I stay. This has to be my number one favorite out of anywhere I have stayed! The whole house is gorgeous, tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques. Thank you, I will be back. Kevin M. - Email

    Hi Monte and Sandy, Thank you again for the nice cabin that we were able to rent. We had a great time and made some wonderful memories with friends. Kind Regards, Stephanie N.  - Email

    "Monte & Sandy I would like to thank you again for yet another excellent stay at White Birch Resort. When I first started coming to the resort it was just my father and I. With us both wanting to share the experience with others and bringing a few more people each year this has turned into an annual trip with my group needing multiple cabins for 24 people total. This is definitely due to you having a beautiful resort with 5 STAR cabin accommodations. I should say over 5 STAR as within our big group we have the “city” gals that love this trip and make it annually as well. They are always hesitant at first but once they get there they always say...WOW! The hot tubs are always a hit when everyone gets back from fishing at night. Blackduck Lake in my opinion is a hidden gem with great fishing for not just walleye, but many other species as well. We have a fishing contest every year for prizes and the group always catches huge sunfish, crappie, bass, pike, perch and walleye. The monster drum/sheephead are always a blast to try and reel in as well. I don’t see an end to us coming up at least once each year for a visit! Ryan O. - Minnesota May - Email 2017

    We had a great time! Meg P. - Email January 2017

    Thanks for this, Sandy & Monte. Thanks again for another great family Christmas in Minnesota. Everything was perfect once again. As always, it was a success. Everyone had a fantastic time . The little ones sure bring another added flavor to the family events. All the best! Terry - Email

    Thank you, we really enjoyed our time and look to come again. Ken - Email

    Good evening; Thank you for such a great visit. We look forward to staying with you again! Rickert Family - Email

    Sandy- Thank you and Monte for all you did to make our stay a great memory for the family. Best- Gayle - Email

    Good morning! We just stayed up there last week, just wanted to let you know we had a really good time. The home was BEAUTIFUL and the sandy beach was amazing. Slept so much better up there! Thanks! S. Laabs - Email

    Enjoyed the stay, thought it was a beautiful place. Take care, Bob - Email

    Sandy and Monte, Just a note to let you know we received the deposit check and to thank-you for such a wonderful Christmas Holiday. It was just the kind of quiet, peaceful, and relaxing vacation that everyone was hoping to have. We enjoyed the setting and the cabin very much. We will definitely keep you in mind for the future. Sincerely, The Christenson’s - Email

    We had a wonderful stay at your resort. The skiing at Buena Vista was excellent. Should have brought tip ups for fishing since we were so close to the lake. Looking forward to the possibility of booking with you next winter. Bruce - Email

    "Thank you Sandy for a wonderful weekend! Blessings N. Yang -Minnesota - Email

    "WOW your accommodations. You have outdone yourself with each home you build. We will be back again next year." Darrel - Minnesota - In Person

    Hey Sandy/Monte: "Just got the security deposit refund cheque in the mail today. Once again, thanks for everything you did for our family Christmas event. As always, it was a success. Everyone had a fantastic time - including our new little ones! If the Canadian dollar wasn't valued so incredibly low right now, our family would seriously consider a summer vacation at White Birch as well. We'll keep that on the back burner for now....All the best in 2016! Hope to see you next December." Take care. Terry -Manitoba, Canada - Email

    "We enjoyed our stay so much last year and cabin#10 was perfect for our family. We look forward to our stay this summer 2016." Thank you, Brad and Karen W. - Minnesota - Email

    "We have stayed in every cabin when the old rustic cabins were here and now I am having fun trying the new fancy homes. There is something unique and charming about everyone. We'll see you next summer. Sarah Goodey - Iowa - Email

    "Sandy your new two bedroom homes are absolutely beautiful! I couldn't believe how comfortable the mattresses were. I have a bad back and I tell you I never had a problem the whole time we were here. So plush! We have also stayed in your home#10 and I have to say your homes are decorated fabulously and are definitely top notch accommodations. We just love it here with our family. We hope to see you again next year. Thank you for being great hosts." Arlene T. - Nebraska - Email

    "I have to say I wasn't expecting much when you told me about staying in one of your studio cabins, but when I got there I was so surprised. Your studio cabins are so nice! I could live in it like an apartment. You have a beautiful resort. You have done such a great job with this resort. I will definitely be back with my family." Joe. T. - Minnesota - In Person

    "So many thanks for making our week so wonderful! I have to honestly say, my husband suggested to go to the lake and stay in a cabin for our families vacation this year and I was very hesitant. When I walked in our home my jaw dropped. This is not a cabin at the lake but instead a beautiful lake home. All your homes are absolutely beautiful! Your family was such nice hosts and the boys all had such a great time with your boys. They were such a good match of personalities. The boys didn't want to go home. We hope to come back for another vacation. We will definitely recommend you to others. Thanks for your kindness. Oh, the cookies were a great touch! Such wonderful memories. Karen S. - Illinois - Email

    "Having to plan a trip for a group of 20, my experience at the resort was incredible right from the beginning. We had some pretty big requirements from catering to daily family schedules and the only answer I ever received was, 'How can we help you!" You were great to work with. The resort property itself was like heaven and the views were awesome panoramic views from our home. Accommodations and other amenities; just what you would expect from an upper-end Minnesota boutique resort. You did not disappoint; every detail was covered. The Japovich Family - California - Email

    "Your home was perfect for our family Christmas. THANKS again for a perfect get-a-way!! We've been doing this for 6 years now and I believe your place accommodated us perfectly!" Diane - Minnesota - Email

    Hi Sandy We had a really good time, thank you. We'll look to receive our noise deposit again like you sent after our visit last winter stay. Thank you. Viktroia - Manitoba Canada Home 7A- Email

    "We had so much fun enjoying our time at our cabin 2 weeks ago! A lot of memories were made during our stay at White Birch Resort." Erin P. - North Dakota - Email

    The home is even more beautiful than the pictures! It was perfect for spending time with our three grandkids and felt like home right away. They loved the bunk beds and walking out on the island. We buried small toys for them one day and created a treasure hunt. They loved it! We had snow twice while we were here and it was absolutely beautiful! We definitely hope to come back again. Jean C. - Iowa - Email

    "Truly enjoyed my time here! I speak for the trees. They like it too! Richard Connelly- Google Review

    "A great place for vacation. Loved this place for 40 years! Awesome!....more beautiful "cabins" at our favorite vacation spot. Stephanie and Steve J. - Nebraska - Facebook

    "Thank you very much for sending the items from the dryer back. We had a GREAT time! R. Meyer - Minnesota Home #7A - Email

    "After having to move from our resort in Brainerd after tornadoes shut our resort down, we were pretty stressed. You were so wonderful to help find another resort for our family to move to. Your new Home#4 met our families needs perfectly! John S. - Missouri - Email

    Thank goodness you had an opening, but I know it was only because it was the first summer you had the home open, so you had a few openings left. The accommodations were absolutely wonderful compared to what we were staying in. Yes, you may be a small intimate resort, not like the large resort we were at. With all you get with your stay and such wonderful accommodations, you have them beat! We'll be back again. Robert A. Family - Email

    Sandy and Monte, Thank you. We all really enjoyed our stay at your resort, such a beautiful cabin! Also great snow for our snowmobile adventure! Thanks again, Jessie and Scott - South Dakota Home#3 - Email

    Sandy & Monte: I just wanted to let you know your homes have it all: from a well-stocked kitchen with utensils, dishes and pots and pans to a roomy house. I have never stayed in any home, and I have stayed in many over the years, and never had a kitchen be so well appointed as your home. Oh, one little suggestion, get big...coffee cups for the homes. We had some big coffee drinkers in the group. :) What makes this place unique is the pride the owners show for this place. Monte and Sandy were very responsive and went out of their way to make us feel especially welcome. Four families totaling 16 stayed for a week and we all had room to be together but also have our alone time. There was plenty to do in the house, hot tub and the resort activities. I haven't been to a place that provided so many activities and they didn't even charge extra for using all the water toys, like canoes, paddleboards, kayaks and much more. I would recommend this property to my friends who love to take multi family vacations and want a beautiful home. Everything you need is here. Julie S. and Family - 2015 Minnesota - Email

    "All of your Brand New Reunion Homes and Cabins are 5-STAR units for small privately owned resorts in Minnesota and certainly this region. They aren't just cabins anymore, these are homes..... " Three Local Financing Banks - Minnesota - In Person

    Last year we had a fantastic time at your facility and we are planning another snowmobile ride in late February next winter. Next time we are going to stay longer. T. Larson - Minnesota - Email

    "Hi- it's Tim from Green Bay. We have been renting one of your cabins over the last few years and we wanted to thank you again for a great stay. We really enjoyed the new Home#10. We will see you again next year for Deer Hunting Opener". Thanks, Brian & Tim M. - Wisconsin - Email

    "Thank you very much for the stay in your home #7A. It was just perfect for our group. We will keep you in mind for another stay." Ameerhamza B. - Minnesota - In Person

    "Hi there, we stayed at your resort last New Year's Eve with about 14 people and are looking to come again since we had such a good time. We look forward to coming again New Year's Eve 2013." Thank you! Kaitlin R. - Minnesota - Email

    "Our time at White Birch will forever be a lingering memory filled with Joy and Thanksgiving that we will hold in our hearts forever. Thank you for your part in making our family gathering an amazing time. Kindest Regards, Nancy N. - Minnesota - Email

    "I just returned from a stay at White Birch and I had a great time. The resort is family oriented and our two children, ages 8 and 10, really enjoyed themselves. We fished, played in the sand, swam, played horseshoes, explored Blackduck and some of the local attractions and made lots and lots of S'Mores! Monte and Sandy were always available to answer any questions and make suggestions on fishing spots and good restaurants." Jason P. - Google Review

    "Sandy, we just want you to know our family use to stay at the same resort every year in Ottertail County for almost 30 years. In the 30 years we use to go to the resort, I'll have you know they never improved anywhere near the amount you and Monte have built new and added to the resort in just the short 9 years you have owned the resort. This is our second summer here and we are so impressed with our Home#7A and all of the other beautiful units you have built. Everything looks so great. We are excited for our stay again this year." Max B. & Family - Nebraska - In Person

    "I would like to thank you, Sandy and Monte for all your help and professionalism getting our reservation for Cabin #10 sorted out. We're glad it worked out where all of our family could be all together in one home. My family and I really enjoy Cabin#10. We wished we could have caught more fish in the end of July but that wasn't the only reason we came. We enjoyed our time together and want to thank you for a great stay and hope to come see you again for another stay, hopefully next year." Trevor T. - Nebraska - Email

    Hi Sandy and Monty, thanks so much for accommodating us in your Studio Cabin. It was a impulse decision for a July 4th stay. We are also really looking forward to seeing you all in August for our family stay. We are always anxious to see what you have accomplished and built each year we come. We are always amazed at all you do each year. Thanks so much, really looking forward to it". Craig & Jackie P. - Minnesota - Email

    "We had a amazing family vacation at White Birch Resort. The "reunion house #2" we stayed in was beautiful and plenty big enough to accommodate our family of 13 with room to spare. The kids enjoyed the inflatables, pool and of course our hot tub on the porch...which the adults also really enjoyed. It was a great week!! The weather cooperated even if the fish did not. Just a good reason to try it again another year. Monty and Sandy were great hosts and filled our every wish (oops! Almost...no drink blender). All said...we had a GREAT time!!" Dora & Ray L. - Wisconsin - Google Review

    "We can't tell you how much we enjoyed our family stay again in your home#7A. We thought when we last stayed in your home#1 back in 2010 was fantastic and with each home you build, you out do yourself. Your homes are definitely luxury homes and we have certainly never stayed in any vacation home so beautiful. The decor and all you provided in a home is top notch luxury. All of our kids and grandkids always have such great fun!! We look forward to coming again and look forward to whatever you may change with each year. So much to look forward to! We so enjoyed our time and are so very excited to come again." Thanks again, Marcia and Jim L. - Nebraska - In Person

    "Thank you very much for such a wonderful week! Our anniversary/family reunion was just wonderful. I want to say, you have something for all ages and since everyone had so much fun, none of us want to go home. Also our cabin #1 was just wonderful. We aren't able to go on a reunion each year, but we hope to return in a few years and have fun again. We look forward to all you plan on adding to the resort when we return for another visit. Thank you!" The Darrell S. Family - Minnesota - Email

    "Just wanted to send a note telling you that we had such a great time at your resort this year. With all of our family under one roof in the reunion home was such a blessing. We have stayed at other resorts over the years in Minnesota but yours is at the top of our list now. I know our younger family members sure did enjoy all of the toys you provide. And as far as me i was so impressed with the new reunion home and all of the decor in the home was just unbelievable. I did not want to leave but hope to get everyone back together again this next year". Sara & Milton K. - Illinois - Email

    "Thanks for the great stay this past week. The cabins was perfect my husband and I with our 2 kids. Ben keeps talking about the fun he had playing in sand at the beach and now wants one at his house. I know the fishing was not the greatest when we where there, but all of the other fun things you have for the family made up for that. We hope to come in June next year when the fishing is better for Mike." Stacey and Mike K. Iowa - Email

    "Monte and Sandy, we wanted to thank you for the 40th anniversary vacation we had at your resort. I cannot tell you how much our family has talked about your new cabin and the fun the kids had this summer. It sure is good to see a resort build some actual homes to rent instead of the typical cabin. My whole family said they would like to come back again next year, so keep up the good work." Shelly and Joe T. - Scottsbluff, Nebraska- Email

    "Dear, Monte & Sandy, "One of the highlights of this year was the girls trip to Minnesota. Thanks for making us so comfortable. Oh, the northern lights were beautiful!!" Love, Cathy H. - Florida - Letter

    "Your resort has one of the best views of all the resorts on Blackduck Lake" Rae B. - Minnesota - In Person

    "Blackduck Lake is definitely a great walleye fishing lake. It is a fisherman's lake with all the structure it offers." Larry F. - Missouri - In Person

    "Monte and Sandy, The reunion house was just awesome! It was a lot bigger inside then the pictures showed on the website. Everything from the log furniture, the whirlpool tub and the homemade cookies were wonderful. Your accommodations and hospitality were so nice. Thank you for everything during our stay". Sincerely, J. Collins - Minnesota - Letter

    "Monte,Thanks for taking the time to help find a repair shop when my SUV alternator went out. And then you insisted on giving me a ride to deliver and pickup my vehicle 30 miles away. It shows you are in a business where you care about your guests and there needs. We'll be back next year". Thank You, Jim E. - Indiana - Letter

    "Dear Monte & Sandy, I had to write to tell you how much we enjoyed our vacation at your resort. You've got a beautiful place. Our homes and cabins are beautiful and immaculate. Our boys were never bored. There are so many things to do. We really enjoyed the pot luck...It was fun to meet some of the other guests. We are definitely planning to come and stay with you again. Thanks for a Wonderful Vacation." Nancy, Scott E. & Family - Minnesota - Letter

    "Thank you so much for your hospitality and you have a beautiful resort. We will definitely be back this winter and next summer. I can't wait to do some fishing here". See you soon, Joe H. & Michelle J. - Minnesota - In Person

    "Thank You! This is a beautiful place!" The Lindells - Minnesota - Email

    "Thank you again for such a wonderful vacation. It's all my kids have talked about and we can't wait to come back next summer! Talk to you soon!" Becki, John S.and Kids - Iowa - Email

    "This lake front house was exactly what we wanted. We had searched diligently for all the features which we found in this property- true lakefront, a deck, a lake not too big, not too small, Fall colors, lots of windows for looking out on the lake, quiet neighbors, Kayak/boating opportunities, plenty of interior space, comfortable beds, dish TV, comfy furniture, fireplace, that cozy cabin feel, not too far from shopping and restaurants, and a friendly and helpful owner. The weather was a little chilly, rained a bit, but we knew that might happen in October. It was nice to still be able to boat and take our bicycles out on a Fall day. The property faces West for great sunsets. Sunrises were beautiful too, as the sun slowly filtered through the big trees on the edge of the property and made its way down on the westward side - great photos. The kitchen was well stocked. Monte and Sandy was very nice and answered our questions immediately while we were there. The cabin was clean and comfortable for our 5 night stay. I liked the motion detector lights at the front door of the house. Coming in at night, they really help. We had family fly into Bemidji, rented a car, and drove around during our stay.  We really enjoyed the scenery along the way. We made a couple outings and enjoyed a tour of Itasca State Park. Fall colors timing is an art. A storm the week before we arrived removed many leaves. Some trees were past peak and others had not yet turned, but we enjoyed the many trees that were in fine color. In conclusion, the lake front house was exactly what we wanted, where we wanted, when we wanted it. Monte and Sandy were the perfect hosts, and we recommend this place for any size group or small family. Just what we wanted and expected." Robert C. October 2016 - Letter

     

Check out the Minnesota Lodging Specials

MN Vacation Deals

MINNESOTA CABIN AVAILABILITY

Weekly Stays Between June 10 and Aug. 19 Except for Cabin # 9-10-18 we allow 2 night stays


All Cabins

Contact White Birch Resort for Your Next Minnesota Vacation Experience
218-835-4552

Connect with us

WHITE BIRCH RESORT

Bemidji Region - Minnesota
18882 North Blackduck Lake RD NE Hines, MN 56630 Office 218-835-4552 Cell 218-553-0210
Email - vacation@whitebirchresort.net